Far West Masters 2024-2025Season Awards

Special Awards

Each year at the Far West Masters season awards banquet we make several special awards. The Rookie of the Year award recognizes racers who are new to our masters racing program and who demonstrate enthusiasm and sportsmanship. The Most-Improved Racer award recognizes racers who have been competing and who have demonstrated significant improvement in their racing. The Cantanho "Spirit of Masters" award honors a competitor who exemplifies participation with cheerfulness and joy, as well as contributions to our program to encourage others to share the enjoyment of masters racing. And new in 2019 is the President's Award, a special recognition award selected by the President of Far West Masters

These special awards are not solely about being the "best" racer – results are certainly important, that's how we measure progress, but it's also about enthusiasm, sportsmanship, tackling the competitive challenge provided by masters racing, and working to improve racing skills.

New Racer

Thanks to all the new racers who competed with us this year - it's great to have new faces and new friends; we look forward to seeing you all next year!

The New Racer award for 2024-2025 goes to:

• Laura Greco (W06)

Most-Improved Racer

The most-improved award is usually our toughest choice – and also the most fun! It's an opportunity to recognize racers who've been working hard, sometimes for many years, and have demonstrated significant improvement throughout the season. These competitors aren't necessarily on the podium every week, but that's part of the satisfaction of this award. These are folks with a "Wow" factor from their fellow competitors who know them best – "Wow, they've been skiing great, they've really gotten better!" is a key factor in selecting these candidates.

The Most-Improved racer awards for 2024-2025 go to:

- Linda McCue (W09)
- Kirk Swanson (M08)

Teddy Cantanho "Spirit of Masters" Award

The Cantanho award was started in the 2012 season in memory of Teddy Cantanho, 89 years young when her racing career was cut short, to recognize a competitor who exemplifies participation with cheerfulness and joy, as well as contributions to our program.

The Cantanho "Spirit of Masters" award for 2024-2025 goes to:

• Jon Garey-Sage (M09)

2024-2025 Far West Masters

Season Awards (best 11 of 14 finishes)

PERFECT ATTTENDANCE

We had 7 competitors who competed in all 14 races held this season: Dave Anderson (M11), Jon Garey-Sage (M09), Don Merritt (M13), Ryan Ritchie (M06), Bill Schenker (M09), Dan Simmons (M11), Kirk Swanson (M08)

And a shoutout for honorable mention to Don Smith (M12), with 13 starts but to his great regret unable to stay for the final Saturday Palisades SL race and banquet.

SEASON CLASS AWARDS - WOMEN

Class standings are scored by total World Cup points accumulated across each racer's best 75% (11 finishes) of the 14 scored Far West division races in the 2024-2025 competition season.

Total number of starts: 752 Average starters per race: 54 Ave starters SL: 54 (381 SL starts, 7 races) Ave starters GS: 57 (172 GS starts, 3 races) Ave starters SG: 50 (199 SG starts, 4 races)

Total number of competitors: 139 (109 men, 30 women) Number of qualifiers: 144 (113 men, 31 women) Average starts per racer: 5 Ave starts men: 6 (624 starts, 109 competitors) Ave starts women: 4 (128 starts, 30 competitors)

NN. Racer - Points - num starts (num finishes)
Races: [Mammoth GS, Mammoth GS, SugarBowl SL, SugarBowl SL, Mammoth SG, Mammoth SG, Mammoth SG, Alpine SL, DiamondPeak SL, DiamondPeak SL, DiamondPeak SL, Palisades GS, Palisades SL]

** Racers must have 6 starts to qualify for the season awards. The minimum-starts rule may be waived for competitors 70 and over; at the discretion of the awards committee, it may also be waived on an individual basis to allow for exceptional conditions such as injury or illness. Not-qualified racers are noted with asterisks where appropriate.

Women Class 9 (65-69)

1. Linda McCue - 600 - 6(6) 2. Terri Forrest - 460 - 5(5)

Women Class 6 (50-54)

1. Laura Greco - 500 - 8(5)

Women Class 5 (45-49)

1. Amy Savagian - 500 - 6(5)

Women Open Class

- 1. Deb Lewis (W10) 760 13(13)
- 2. Nancy Gieske (W08) 710 12(11)
- 3. Linda Crowell (W10) 560 10(9)

[illness waiver invoked on the min starts requirement for Terri Forrest (W09) - had to miss finals due to family medical emergency]

SEASON CLASS AWARDS - MEN

Class standings are scored by total World Cup points accumulated across each racer's best 75% (11 finishes) of the 14 scored Far West division races in the 2024-2025 competition season.

Total number of starts: 752 Average starters per race: 54 Ave starters SL: 54 (381 SL starts, 7 races) Ave starters GS: 57 (172 GS starts, 3 races) Ave starters SG: 50 (199 SG starts, 4 races)

Total number of competitors: 139 (109 men, 30 women) Number of qualifiers: 144 (113 men, 31 women) Average starts per racer: 5 Ave starts men: 6 (624 starts, 109 competitors) Ave starts women: 4 (128 starts, 30 competitors)

NN. Racer - Points - num starts (num finishes)
Races: [Mammoth GS, Mammoth GS, SugarBowl SL, SugarBowl SL, Mammoth SG, Mammoth SG, Mammoth SG, Alpine SL, DiamondPeak SL, DiamondPeak SL, Palisades GS, Palisades SL]

** Racers must have 6 starts to qualify for the season awards. The minimum-starts rule may be waived for competitors 70 and over; at the discretion of the awards committee, it may also be waived on an individual basis to allow for exceptional conditions such as injury or illness. Not-qualified racers are noted with asterisks where appropriate.

Men Class 13 (85-89)

1. Don Merritt - 1100 - 14(11)

Men Class 12 (80-84)

1. Don Smith - 1060 - 13(13)

2. Barnett, Robert - 500 - 5(5)

Men Class 11 (75-79)

- 1. Dan Simmons 1100 14(14)
- 2. Dave Anderson 660 14(12)
- 3. Sam Crowell 620 9(7)

Men Class 10 (70-74)

- 1. Rees Palermo 720 10(8)
- 2. Tom Bullard 545 8(8)
- 3. Paul Smith 385 6(6)

Men Class 9 (65-69)

- 1. Mark Mirviss 810 12(12)
- 2. Chris Morawski 476 9(8)
- 3. Stephen Bard 427 12(9)

Men Class 8 (60-64)

- 1. Ken Bailey 790 10(9)
- 2. John Fat 620 10(9)
- 3. Andy Wolf 505 10(8)

Season Awards (best 11 of 14 finishes)

Men Class 7 (55-59)

1(t). Robert Heller - 580 - 8(7) 1(t). Dennis Yim - 580 - 8(7)

Men Class 6 (50-54)

1. Oren Jacob - 500 - 8(5)

Men Open Class)

- 1. Ryan Ritchie (M06) 980 14(12)
- 2. Erik Nelson (M03) 620 8(8)
- 3. David Law (M02) 600 7(6)

Season Awards (best 11 of 14 finishes)

SEASON BIB AWARDS

TOP FIVE WOMEN

- 1. Deb Lewis (W10) 760 13(13)
- 2. Nancy Gieske (W08) 710 12(11)
- 3. Linda Crowell (W10) 560 10(9)
- 4. Melissa House (W06) 346 8(7))
- 5. Cherie Williams (W04) 260 6(5))

[Not eligible due to too few starts to qualify for season awards: Tricia Wall (W05) - 400 - 4(4) Julie Loisel (W04) - 380 - 4(4)]

TOP TEN MEN

- 1. Ryan Ritchie (M06) 980 14(12)
- 2. Erik Nelson (M03) 620 8(8)
- 3. David Law (M02) 600 7(6)
- 4. Michael Braun (M08) 452 12(10)
- 5. Ara Papazian (M07) 440 10(6)
- 6. Wenceslao Lada Munoz (M08) 410 8(8)
- 7. Doug Fulton (M09) 408 11(11)
- 8. Seb Arnold (M02) 380 8(6)
- 9. David Piermarini (M08) 340 12(12)
- 10. Kirk Swanson (M08) 322 14(13)