Far West Masters 2015-2016 Season Awards

Special Awards

Each year at the Far West Masters season awards banquet we make several special awards. The Most-Improved Racer award recognizes racers who have been competing and who have demonstrated significant improvement in their racing. The Cantanho "Spirit of Masters" award honors a competitor who exemplifies participation with cheerfulness and joy, as well as contributions to our program to encourage others to share the enjoyment of masters racing.

These special awards are not solely about being the "best" racer – results are certainly important, that's how we measure progress, but it's also about enthusiasm, sportsmanship, tackling the competitive challenge provided by masters racing, and working to improve racing skills.

Most-Improved Racer

The most-improved award is usually our toughest choice – and also the most fun! It's an opportunity to recognize racers who've been working hard, sometimes for many years, and have demonstrated significant improvement throughout the season. These competitors aren't necessarily on the podium every week, but that's part of the satisfaction of this award. These are folks with a "Wow" factor from their fellow competitors who know them best – "Wow, they've been skiing great, they've really gotten better!" is a key factor in selecting these candidates.

The Most-Improved racer awards for 2015-2016 go to:

- Nora Urdi (W05)
- Ray Tulloch (M08)

Teddy Cantanho "Spirit of Masters" Award

The Cantanho award was started in the 2012 season in memory of Teddy Cantanho, 89 years young when her racing career was cut short, to recognize a competitor who exemplifies participation with cheerfulness and joy, as well as contributions to our program.

The Cantanho "Spirit of Masters" award for 2015-2016 goes to:

• Deb Lewis

PERFECT ATTTENDANCE

We had 8 competitors who raced in all 21 races held this season: Jim Dugan (M11), Don Smith (M11), Dan Simmons (M09), Jonathan Garey-Sage (M08), Mark Mirviss (M07), Pierre Jeangirard (M08/MOP), Doug Fulton (M07/MOP), Dave Melton (M07/MOP)

Total number of starts: 1164

SEASON CLASS AWARDS - WOMEN

Class standings are scored by total World Cup points accumulated across each racer's best 75% (16 finishes) of the 21 scored Far West division races in the 2015-2016 competition season.

```
Average starters per race: 55
  Ave starters SL: 53 (478 SL starts, 9 races)
  Ave starters GS: 61 (424 GS starts, 7 races)
  Ave starters SG: 52 (262 SG starts, 5 races)
Total number of competitors: 157 (129 men, 28 women)
  Average starts per racer: 7
  Ave starts men: 7 (965 starts, 129 competitors)
  Ave starts women: 7 (199 starts, 28 competitors)
NN. Racer - Points - num starts (num finishes)
Races: [
  Mammoth GS, Mammoth GS, Squaw SL, Squaw SL, Heavenly SL, Heavenly GS, Heavenly GS,
  SugarBowl SL, SugarBowl SL, Squaw SL, Squaw SL, Squaw GS, Mammoth SG, Mammoth SG,
  Mammoth SG, Mammoth SG, Mammoth GS, Mammoth GS, Mammoth SL
1
** Racers must have 6 starts to qualify for the season awards. The minimum-starts rule is waived for competitors
70 and over; at the discretion of the awards committee, it may also be waived on an individual basis to allow for
exceptional conditions such as injury or illness. Not-qualified racers are noted with asterisks where appropriate.
Women Class 10 (70-74)
1. Pettigrew, Marcie - 900 - 9(9)
Women Class 8 (60-64)
1. Spicher, Lors - 1200 - 12(12)
Women Class 7 (55-59)
1. Feddis, Mary - 920 - 11(10)
2. Easel, Kimberly - 500 - 6(5) [first year FW Masters member]
Women Class 5 (45-49)
1. Urdi, Nora - 920 - 10(10) [first year FW Masters member]
2. McGlashan, Caroline - 360 - 6(5) [first year FW Masters member]
[*not eligible because not a FWM member: Savage, Vera - 480 - 5(5)]
Women Open Class)
1. Crowell, Linda (W08) - 1110 - 16(15)
2. Wentworth, Kim (W06) - 885 - 20(19)
3. Andrews, Emily (W08) - 831 - 17(16)
```

SEASON CLASS AWARDS - MEN

Class standings are scored by total World Cup points accumulated across each racer's best 75% (16 finishes) of the 21 scored Far West division races in the 2015-2016 competition season.

```
Total number of starts: 1164

Average starters per race: 55

Ave starters SL: 53 (478 SL starts, 9 races)

Ave starters GS: 61 (424 GS starts, 7 races)

Ave starters SG: 52 (262 SG starts, 5 races)

Total number of competitors: 157 (129 men, 28 women)

Average starts per racer: 7

Ave starts men: 7 (965 starts, 129 competitors)

Ave starts women: 7 (199 starts, 28 competitors)

NN. Racer - Points - num starts (num finishes)

Races: [

Mammoth GS, Mammoth GS, Squaw SL, Squaw SL, Heavenly SL, Heavenly GS, Heavenly GS, SugarBowl SL, SugarBowl SL, Squaw SL, Squaw SL, Squaw GS, Mammoth SG, Ma
```

** Racers must have 6 starts to qualify for the season awards. The minimum-starts rule is waived for competitors 70 and over; at the discretion of the awards committee, it may also be waived on an individual basis to allow for exceptional conditions such as injury or illness. Not-qualified racers are noted with asterisks where appropriate.

Men Class 13 (85-89)

1. De Mattei, Gaetano - 700 - 7(7)

Men Class 12 (80-84)

1. Sulser, Martin - 1200 - 15(12)

Men Class 11 (75-79)

1(t). Dugan, Jim - 1460 - 21(21) 1(t). Smith, Don - 1460 - 21(21) 3. Merritt, Don - 1100 - 19(14)

Men Class 10 (70-74)

- 1. Hudson, Nick 800 8(8)
- 2. Garner, Dave 440 6(5)

Men Class 9 (65-69)

- 1. Simmons, Dan 1350 21(18)
- 2. Crowell, Sam 975 17(15)
- 3. Smith, Brian 840 9(9)

Men Class 8 (60-64)

- 1. Tulloch, Ray 1520 19(19)
- 2. Garey-Sage, Jonathan 1240 21(19)
- 3. Laudenschlager, Paul 590 10(10)

Men Class 7 (55-59)

- 1. Mirviss, Mark 1360 21(21)
- 2. Kerwin, Patrick 960 14(13)
- 3. Berry, Jim 740 10(8)

Men Class 6 (50-54)

- 1(t). Hlubucek, Mark 950 11(11)
- 1(t). Swanson, Kirk 950 13(13)
- 3. Parkhurst, Christopher 760 12(10)

Men Class 5 (45-49)

- 1. Vingralek, Radek 1180 16(12)
- 2. Nachman, David 420 7(5) + 1 Open class result

Men Class 4 (40-44)

1. Ghielmetti, Brian - 400 - 6(4)

Men Class 3 (35-39)

[there were no competitors in M03 eligible for season awards

Men Class 2 (30-34)

- 1. Uy, Michael 860 10(9) [first year FW Masters member]
- 2. Cooke, Christopher 400 7(4)) [first year FW Masters member]

[*not eligible due to insufficient starts: Marshall, Mark - 480 - 5(5)]

Men Class 1 (21-29)

1. Melick, Russell - 500 - 6(5) [first year FW Masters member]

Men Open Class)

- 1. Lis, Wojciech (M01) 1035 17(14)
- 2. Jeangirard, Pierre (M08) 1020 21(19)
- 3. Braun, Michael (M06) 917 18(16)

SEASON BIB AWARDS

TOP FIVE WOMEN

- 1. Crowell, Linda (W08) 1110 16(15)
- 2. Wentworth, Kim (W06) 885 20(19)
- 3. Andrews, Emily (W08) 831 17(16)
- 4. Lewis, Deb (W08) 700 8(8)
- 5. Marcacci, Lesley (W02) 660 7(7)

TOP TEN MEN

- 1. Lis, Wojciech (M01) 1035 17(14)
- 2. Jeangirard, Pierre (M08) 1020 21(19)
- 3. Braun, Michael (M06) 917 18(16)
- 4. Papazian, Ara (M05) 840 9(9)
- 5. Fulton, Doug (M07) 690 21(21)
- 6. Sady, Scott (M05) 604 19(13)
- 7. Melton, Dave (M07) 517 21(21)
- 8. Cronin-Wilton, Seth (M03)
- 9. Adams, Chris (M04) 447 19(17)
- 10. Sussek, Randall (M07) 427 19(18